Sue Shaffer Learning Commons and Library: Guides: U.S. History: Historical Digital Archives

Library, Museum, or Archive?

Libraries, museums, and archives seem rather similar, but they each serve a different purpose. Howard Besser explained it best in their February 2004 report to the Canadian Heritage Information Network:

Though libraries, museums, and archives all look like similar repositories housing cultural resources, there are some fundamental differences in mission, in what is collected, in how works are organized, and in how the institution relates to its users.

The traditional library is based upon the individual item, but it is generally no[t] unique. Archives manage groups of works and focus on maintaining a particular context for the overall collection, Museums collect specific objects and provide curatorial context for each of them. These distinctions of the fundamental unit that is collected and why affect each institution’s acquisition policy, cataloging, preservation, and presentation to the public.

Most people are familiar with libraries and museums, so here we will focus on archives. There are many different types of archives (government, family, digital, music, etc...), but at their core they all function the same. They function as a place in which records of events are kept and are a place where "people can go to gather firsthand facts, data, and evidence from letters, reports, notes, memos, photographs, and other primary sources" (What's an archives, n.d.). Personal archives are just as important as National Archives, but they serve a small subset of people -- mainly your family-- whereas the National Archives serves as a resource for the entire United States and beyond.

Archival Collections of the Pacific Northwest

Building Oregon
If you are curious about a historic building anywhere in Oregon, information is now as close as your fingertips!
Discover historic photos, building and renovation dates, architects’ names, details about architectural style, and more.
Historic Can Collection - Jim Rock - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
This collection contains images of historic cans assembled by Jim Rock (1942-2010) over his career as an archaeologist with the U.S. Forest Service in Yreka, CA.
Oregon Digital
Oregon Digital collections are comprised of unique digitized and born-digital materials including photographs, articles, sheet music, manuscripts, ephemera, and more.
Oregon Historical Society Digital Collections
Access OHS's digital collection and learn about their physical collection through their website, catalog records, and finding aids. OHS seeks to “inspire curiosity about all the people, places, and events that have shaped Oregon."
Oregoniana
Publications in Oregon from city and county governments, tribal governments, non-profits, organizations, voter's pamphlets, the People's Power League, scrip, and more.
Southern Oregon History Collection - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
Books, maps, government documents, oral histories, correspondence and miscellaneous materials that document the unique historical experience of Southern Oregon.
State of Oregon Government Publications
The Oregon Documents Depository Program supports government transparency and civic education by ensuring consistent and coordinated permanent public access to information published by Oregon state government.
Washington County Oral Histories
Oral histories from libraries, historical societies, museums, and other community organizations in Washington County, Oregon. Topics include Local Families and Notable Residents, Farming, Forestry, Latino Immigrants & Culture, Schools, Veterans & Wars.

Architecture of the Pacific Northwest
This collection showcases design and working drawings of important examples of both historic and more contemporary residential, commercial, and public buildings in the Puget Sound region.
King County Collects
Led by the Museum of History & Industry, a major regional history museum, this project was a collaboration of 61 historical organizations belonging to the Association of King County Historical Organizations.
Washington Rural Heritage - Digital Archive
Unique local history materials from libraries, museums, and private collections across Washington State.

Peter Britt Photographs - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
This selection of photographs by the famous Jacksonville photographer and his son, Emil, depict portraits and landscapes as well as the social, cultural, and economic life of southern Oregon between 1880 and 1930.
Rogue River National Forest Historic Images - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
Images selected from the Historical Records Collection of Rogue River National Forest trace 100 years of forest history, economy, landscapes, and recreation from its founding as Crater National Forest in 1908.
Southern Oregon Historical Society - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
Photographs, selected from the vast holdings the Southern Oregon Historical Society’s Research Library, show people working, traveling, and raising families in rural lands and towns of the Rogue Valley since the late 1800s.
Stories of Southern Oregon: Southern Oregon Digital Archive
More than 200 historic photos and videotaped interviews of more than 30 farm and ranch families and helper agencies in Southern Oregon.
Washington County Heritage Online
Explore thousands of historic photographs from Washington County, Oregon.

First Nations Tribal Collection - Southern Oregon Digital Archive
The First Nations Tribal Collection of the Southern Oregon Digital Archives consists of documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of this bioregion. We have begun to collect and mount materials about many tribes in southwestern Oregon and northern California.
Indigenous History of Oregon
The history of Oregon's indigenous peoples goes back to time immemorial. This guide is an introduction to their history, with links to more readings and sources.
National Museum of the American Indian Archive Center
The National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) Archive Center actively acquires and serves as a repository for the records of contemporary Native American artists, writers, activists, and organizations. In addition, the Archive Center holds the records of the NMAI’s predecessor institution, the Museum of the American Indian (MAI), Heye Foundation.
Native American Artifacts - Collins Collection - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
Photographs of 100 representative artifacts from the Collins collection of Native American artifacts, donated to SOU by Mary Collins, provide information into the material culture of many Native nations, primarily of the Southwest.

Oregon Maps
Maps published by the State of Oregon, US Federal Government, and other organizations.

Historic Oregon Newspapers
Search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP).
Useful on searching Historical Oregon Newspapers: https://media.oregonstate.edu/media/t/0_eo9dmtkf
National Digital Newspaper Program
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Washington Digital Newspapers
“One hundred years ago…” front pages from Washington newspapers
Links to the Washington State Library's microfilm collections for a full list of titles, publication histories, and essays about the newspapers’ influence on their communities.
Browse newspapers by title, calendar date, or full text searching
Search on the go using your smartphone or tablet

Archives:

1. The organized body of non- current records made or received in connection with the transaction of its affairs by a government or a government agency, institution, organization, or other corporate body and the personal papers of a family or individual, which are preserved because of their enduring value. 2. The agency responsible for selecting, preserving, and making available such materials. 3. The repository itself. in American usage, the term “archives” is a collective noun, though the form “archive” is increasingly seen (Levine-Clark & Dean, 2013, p. 15).

Archives:

Are "selected, arranged, described, and preserved according to the principles of provenance (referring to the creator of the record whether individual, family, or institution) and original order (records are maintained in the order in which they were maintained by their creator). Through these principles, archives ensure the authenticity, reliability, and evidential value of the records that they are charged with preserving for posterity" (Mattock, et al., 2018).

Archivist:

1. The person in charge of an archival repository. 2. a person responsible for any of the tasks engaged in archival work, including accessioning, appraisal, arrangement, description, disposition, exhibition, preservation, and reference services (Levine-Clark & Dean, 2013, p. 15).

Digital archive:

A collection of digital objects, typically centered on a common theme, and intended to preserve and provide access over time. Content of digital archives can be either born digital or scanned. Synonymous with digital library, digital repository, and repository (Levine-Clark & Dean, 2013, p. 85).

Museum:

A place where people can go to learn. Most museums have exhibits and collections. These institutions may be nonprofits or run for profit. They may have large or small staffs, or they may rely completely on volunteers. The generally accepted idea of a museum, according to such organizations as the American Association of Museums and the International Council on Museums, is a place where people can see and learn about things. This often is described as public service through education. Through museums' collections, humankind may interpret the world and learn more about itself (Campbell, 2020).

References

Besser, H. (2004, February). The museum-library-archive. Canadian Heritage Information Network. https://www.miap.hosting.nyu.edu/program/04spring/chin-libraries.html

Campbell, J. (2020). Museum. Salem Press Encyclopedia. https://proxy.umpqua.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ers&AN=87321038&site=eds-live&scope=site

Levine-Clark, M. & Dean, T.C. (2013). ALA Glossary of Library and Information Science (4th ed.). ALA Editions. https://proxy.umpqua.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=654642&site=eds-live&scope=site

Mattock, L.K., Theisen, C., & Burek Pierce, J. (2018). A case for digital squirrels: Using and preserving YouTube for popular culture research. First Monday, 23(1). doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.5210/fm.v23i1.8163

What's an archives? (n.d.). U.S. National Archives and Record Administration. https://www.archives.gov/about/info/whats-an-archives.html