Sue Shaffer Learning Commons and Library: Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Finding OER

OER Used in Oregon Higher Ed

OpenOregon Educational Resources
Open Oregon Webinar Calendar
See upcoming webinars from Open Oregon. The recordings are later posted in the Open Oregon website.

OpenStax Textbooks

Open Stax Texbooks - Rice University.

Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free, and backed by additional learning resources. Review our OpenStax textbooks and decide if they are right for your course. Simple to adopt, free to use. We make it easy to improve student access to higher education. As a leading research university committed to unconventional wisdom, Rice University generates innovative research, excellent teaching, and creative contributions for the betterment of our world. OpenStax supports this vision by improving students' access to high-quality education everywhere.

Open Textbook Library

Open Textbook Library - University of Minnesota

Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution. Many have been reviewed by faculty from Open Textbook Network member institutions.

eCampus Ontario Open Library

A collection of curated OER from Ontario, Canada. Open textbook records contain: download options, information about the book, links to ancillary materials, links to other editions/versions of the resource, and faculty reviews.

Low Cost Textbooks

Flat World Knowledge Digital Textbooks
Digital textbooks in many subjects, able to be personalized by instructors, print versions available

Open Textbooks & Course Materials

B.C. Open Collection
a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) that can be accessed by educators to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms.

All materials are openly licensed. This means they are free to use, customize, and share.
eCampus Ontario Open Library
A collection of curated OER. Open textbook records contain: download options, information about the book, links to ancillary materials, links to other editions/versions of the resource, and faculty reviews.
Milne Open Textbooks
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
MIT OpenCourseWare
A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content, OpenCourseWare is open, available globally, and a permanent MIT activity.
OER Commons
The Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons currently includes open educational materials in broad subject areas. Materials include lesson plans, textbooks, activities, assessments, readings, and more.
OpenStax College
OpenStax is one of the most popular OER repositories in use today, and provides textbooks for college as well as high school AP courses.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides an easy-to-use interface for locating and evaluating OER. Along with peer-reviewed textbooks, the OTL provides reviews from faculty who have adopted their texts for courses.
Open Washington
OER materials for faculty created by WA SBCTC

Finding eBooks

Google eBooks
Citations and previews of books and magazines, full text is available if for public domain items
Project Gutenberg
Full text of over 45,000 free ebooks in the public domain, available to read online or download
WikiBooks
Wikibooks is a Wikimedia project for collaboratively writing open-content textbooks that anyone, including you, can edit right now by clicking on the edit link that appears near the top of each Wikibooks page.

Finding Adult Basic Skills OERs

CUNY High School Equivalency Curriculum Framework
Provides direction, structure and materials for teaching math, science and social studies (integrated with reading and writing) in the new era of HSE instruction. The complete framework is available for free download.
GCF Global: Computer Basics
These tutorials will help empower you to be more comfortable with this type of technology, from learning the parts of a computer to using a mouse.
LINCS: Adult Education and Literacy Resources
contains high-quality multimedia instructional resources, informed by research, for use by adult educators. The resources in the collection are limited to items that have gone through a rigorous internal and external review process conducted by subject matter experts and have been recommended and approved by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education (OCTAE), Division of Adult Education and Literacy. The resources have a sound theoretical framework and an application to the adult education field. Search the collection by category, keyword, date and more.
OER Commons: Adult Education Open Community of Resources
This group provides an opportunity for adult educators and learners to organize materials dedicated to supporting Adult Basic Education (ABE) and Adult English as a Second Language (Adult ESL) teaching and learning.

Finding OER Curriculum

Galileo Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
OER Commons
The Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons currently includes open educational materials in broad subject areas. Materials include lesson plans, textbooks, activities, assessments, readings, and more.
Open Course Library
Course materials, including syllabi and activities, Creative Commons licensing, from WA State
Open Michigan
Course materials in many subjects, Creative Commons licensing
Saylor Academy
Saylor provides freely available online courses and course credit on a variety of subjects. Some of these courses also provide college credit.
Skills Commons
Wisc-Online
Wisc-Online provides learning objects, interactive activities, and other educational resources in various fields. From Veterinary Medicine to Economics and Political Science, it contains a variety of learning objects for students in nearly any discipline.

Finding Science OERs

Anatomy & Physiology
BCampus
Biology
BCampus
Chemistry
BCampus original version
Chemistry
BCampus adapted version
Computer Science OER Portal
Concepts of Biology
National Science Digital Library
Pharmacology
BCampus
Physics
BCampus
LibreTexts: Chemistry
his Living Library is a principal hub of the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.

Finding Open Photos

Find photos in the public domain or with open licenses

Guide to Royalty Free Photographs
Published by the State Library of Oregon. Avoid questions of copyright and usage by using some of these resources to locate images that are royalty free.
Pixabay
Creative Commons Image Search
Image search for reusable content on the Creative Commons website

Search Engines for Finding OERs

Mason OER Metafinder

MOM launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search

(OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 115 different sources and contains 455,499 records.